The Foolishness of the Many and the Bravery of the Few

art-sociopath1-620x349

I am concerned at times about the motivation of some people to get what they want at the expense of others. Lately I have been astounded at my discovery that there are very many of this type of person and that they usually reach very high positions that gives them the ability to dominate others. They appear to be very successful, well in finance and work, I doubt if they have healthy relationship or feel fulfilled. I feel a good example are some politicians and even people in respected positions like priests, nurses, doctors and police. Yes there are people in positions of power who are responsible and strive to be the best they can be in their work. It is the people who decide to pick these positions for the sake of being in control of others or even to use their position to abuse others.

Most of my employment has been in health. I have worked in the area of disability, physical sickness and mental health. I consider myself honured that people in very vulnerable positions have trusted me to support them. I have returned that honour by giving patients the best care I could with the limited knowledge I had with some types of illness and disability.

I was working in London in a community care home. The shift hours were long, 12 hours per shift. I remember a person with profound disability that I had responsibility for her overall care. The staff often said how terrible she was. They said she just wanted to pinch and hit staff.

I was never one to believe what people said, I always would experience the situation or meet the person and make up my own mind. I visited Jackie for the first time. I approached her with something to feed her with. I said hello gently and smiled. At first when I met her she was agitated but as I smiled at her, talked to her and fed her with care. she relaxed and began to smile. Then she held my hand and looked me straight in the eye. I do not know exactly what happened but we seemed to understand each other in that moment. From that day on I always visited her on my shift regardless of whether she was assigned to me that day or not. It would be the high point of my day.

I experienced the same positive reaction from distressed young people in a psychiatric hospital in Dublin, Ireland. I was told by my manager that this patient was a brat or another person was not to be trusted. I talked to patients with respect and treated them as a person, not a diagnosis. I ran group activites as an assistant occupational therapist for the patients. My classes were nearly always full. The patients enjoyed being in my groups. I enjoyed working with the patients.

That was all very fine and I enjoyed my work. Many of the staff in the hospital were really lovely people. I admired their care of the patients. The problem was my manager, the occupational therapist, was running for a promotion to be senior occupational therapist. I was beginning to make her look inferior in her job unintentionally because I worked with the patients with ease and most of my groups were full with patients that were happy to be in my group. My manager often had to coerce the patients to attend her groups. She was often rude to patients and had favourites that she treated very well while ignoring or disrespecting most of the other patients. She moved to get rid of me, bullied me and knew the system well enough to put a lot of pressure on me to leave. I left because frankly I could not tolerate how badly she treated the patients or me. I reported her behaviour after I left but I discovered later she achieved her desired position of senior occupational therapist.

This is one of the themes in my novel The Golden Age Dawns. Some characters are just plain evil while other characters are good hearted. We see how the darkness in people impacts on others and how loving individuals fight to counteract that negativity through the characters in the book.

While the world is full of these people who wish to dominate at any cost the world is also full of caring people like me. People who want to help, people who are sensitive enough to acknowledge the pain of others and try to do something about it. We counteract the harm that so many of the power hungry people do but often in a quiet way. You may not even notice these peaceful loving people doing their work around you. At the end of the day love conquers hate and fear. While this may seem naive it is my belief that light eventually conquers darkness.

 

Published by:

Gabriel Woods

I am the author of The Golden Age Dawns, a fantasy science fiction book.I have traveled to many countries around the world including India, Australia, Scotland, England, Ireland, America, Amsterdam, Germany, Greece, Cyprus, Portugal and Spain. I have worked in mental health and disability for most of my life. I have an honours Degree in Psychology, a Masters in Aid-work Management, a Certificate in Counseling Skills and I am a certified coach. I have written my first novel, The Golden Age Dawns which will be published in Amazon at the end of April. I have a Kindle book available in Amazon Easter Rising 1916 A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom which is very popular and has achieve high ratings. I have always aimed to help and support people all my working life. Much of my learning from this is in my book, some of the ideas I share on this blogging site along with beautiful places I write about that I have traveled to. I am concerned about world politics at the moment and hope that my new book will go toward making the world a better place and helping individuals feel better about themselves. I am living in Ireland near Dublin. Apart from writing my book I have been working as a volunteer on a helpline for people with depression, bipolar and depression. What I love most is traveling and sunny countries. I love to visit important spiritual, religious, or historic places when I am in holiday but I also like holidays on the beach. I have a wide variety of music that I like from pop music to dance music and rock music. My hobbies are social commentary, politics, reading all kinds of books, the gym, gardening, D.I.Y. I love to socialize and meet new people. I like to learn new things. I am the author of: Easter Rising 1916, A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom My Novel The Golden Age Dawns. Gabriel Woods achieved a degree in psychology in University College Dublin, Ireland. He then studied a postgraduate course in UCD which focused on the management of humanitarian aid work. He learned about African culture and the issues aid workers face in Africa. Gabriel Woods has travelled around the world. He has lived in Sydney and Brisbane in Australia. He explored important religious and cultural Hindu, Buddhist and Muslim sites of India. He learned about the spiritual practices of the people that live and worship there. Gabriel Woods also spent time exploring important aboriginal sites in Australia and the lessons aboriginals have for humanity. Gabriel Woods has lived in Dublin, London and Edinburgh. He has travelled widely throughout mainland Europe including Spain, Greece, Cyprus, Netherlands and Germany with a focus on areas of cultural importance. These sites throughout the world that Gabriel has visited have had a profound effect on him which he expresses as he writes about these areas in his novel. Gabriel has returned to Ireland. He worked voluntarily for Aware helpline that supports people experiencing depression and anxiety. He is now a fully qualified life coach. He lives in a village near the banks of The Royal Canal.

Categories emotional abuse, emotional pain and it`s usefulness, emotions, mental health system, psychologyTags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

