Love Hurts

I don`t really write about personal issues on blogs but this time I will. I usually write about my characters and what happens to them. I write about what affects people or thoughts about life, usually not my life specifically. Maybe someone will read this and feel better that there are others who feel the same.

Relationships are difficult for me. I usually start with someone with nice a personality. We have lots of fun and there is lots of passion.

Always there comes a time where I become faced with emotional aggression. I do not get physically attacked but I get insulted, manipulated at and shouted at regularly. I can honestly say I try my best to stop this. I use reason, I request the behaviour to stop, I leave the house. Then the abuse continues regardless of what I do and becomes more frequent. Eventually I have to leave the relationship in order to protect my own health.

I know of other authors who write books with love. They write loving words and loving phrases. Recently I found out that one of these authors has had several abusive relationships. That she was going through the court process currently because her husband wanted half her royalties for the rest of her life.

I am a very forgiving person and maybe this happens because people know I will forgive if they are disrespectful to me. It is difficult to forgive constantly when the behaviour is repeated. Ultimately it is the dance between your own right to be respected as a person and the other persons right to be respected and the capacity to love in a loving, not a controlling, way. The ability to stand up for yourself in a loving but effective way. To not be afraid to face aggression and to resolve it.

I believe that everything in life teaches us something. When you learn how to deal with something the issue stops repeating. I could end up with the same type of personality in another relationship.  Maybe I need to learn how to handle this behaviour. As I read in a book once “Yes you have been in this place before but you have not been beyond it.” I would like to go beyond these situations and know the path to do so.

Visit amazon.com/author/gabrielwoods

Published by:

Gabriel Woods

I am the author of The Golden Age Dawns, a fantasy science fiction book.I have traveled to many countries around the world including India, Australia, Scotland, England, Ireland, America, Amsterdam, Germany, Greece, Cyprus, Portugal and Spain. I have worked in mental health and disability for most of my life. I have an honours Degree in Psychology, a Masters in Aid-work Management, a Certificate in Counseling Skills and I am a certified coach. I have written my first novel, The Golden Age Dawns which will be published in Amazon at the end of April. I have a Kindle book available in Amazon Easter Rising 1916 A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom which is very popular and has achieve high ratings. I have always aimed to help and support people all my working life. Much of my learning from this is in my book, some of the ideas I share on this blogging site along with beautiful places I write about that I have traveled to. I am concerned about world politics at the moment and hope that my new book will go toward making the world a better place and helping individuals feel better about themselves. I am living in Ireland near Dublin. Apart from writing my book I have been working as a volunteer on a helpline for people with depression, bipolar and depression. What I love most is traveling and sunny countries. I love to visit important spiritual, religious, or historic places when I am in holiday but I also like holidays on the beach. I have a wide variety of music that I like from pop music to dance music and rock music. My hobbies are social commentary, politics, reading all kinds of books, the gym, gardening, D.I.Y. I love to socialize and meet new people. I like to learn new things. I am the author of: Easter Rising 1916, A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom My Novel The Golden Age Dawns. Gabriel Woods achieved a degree in psychology in University College Dublin, Ireland. He then studied a postgraduate course in UCD which focused on the management of humanitarian aid work. He learned about African culture and the issues aid workers face in Africa. Gabriel Woods has travelled around the world. He has lived in Sydney and Brisbane in Australia. He explored important religious and cultural Hindu, Buddhist and Muslim sites of India. He learned about the spiritual practices of the people that live and worship there. Gabriel Woods also spent time exploring important aboriginal sites in Australia and the lessons aboriginals have for humanity. Gabriel Woods has lived in Dublin, London and Edinburgh. He has travelled widely throughout mainland Europe including Spain, Greece, Cyprus, Netherlands and Germany with a focus on areas of cultural importance. These sites throughout the world that Gabriel has visited have had a profound effect on him which he expresses as he writes about these areas in his novel. Gabriel has returned to Ireland. He worked voluntarily for Aware helpline that supports people experiencing depression and anxiety. He is now a fully qualified life coach. He lives in a village near the banks of The Royal Canal.

Categories emotional abuse, Love hurts, psychologyTags , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

