Hope, Fear and Love

These are the three main emotions that the focus of my thoughts swings between much of the time.

I have often changed radically in my life. I reinvent myself every few years. One year I am doing a degree, another year traveling the world, another living in a foreign country and another living at home. It is not that I am running from difficulties that I do not want to face like so many have said. I want to live. I want to enjoy life. I see there is much in the world to experience and enjoy, so I will take the chance in this short life to do so.

When always a young child my grandfather died of a heart attack at the age of fifty. Before he died he had four strokes. I loved him so much, I still think of him and I am forty one. Even though his death saddened me he gave me a great gift. That gift was he taught me to appreciate people while they are still in your life. Those you love show them love because it is impossible to tell when they will no longer be in your life. In my novel one of the characters experiences the death of her father, the only person who cared about her. She experiences terrible inner pain and heartache and that changes her life drastically.

in_every_moment_we-146340The death of my grandad also made me determined to enjoy life. I have tried so many different ways of living. There is one disadvantage to my way of life. I often get stuck between the excitement of taking a risk and the hope I will enjoy an experience and the fear that the next move in my life may be a mistake and I may regret the consequences. That has happened in the past.

Do I let fear dominate my decisions and I end up doing nothing with my life or do I trust in life that my venture will be successful? In the end I choose hope.

The common thread in my life despite all these changes I make is my desire to love and be loved. I think this is the primary most important experience in life and I always aim to have love in my life. Love is my driving force. Unfortunately the changes that take place within me and my life means that the love I have in my life changes. Close friends drop away and I have to make new friends. I may be so far away geographically that I do not have the same amount of love from my family. Chatting around a table and a Chinese takeaway is replaced by phone calls, e-mail and skype.

I am living now in my own home a thirty minute drive away from where I was brought up despite living thousands of miles away in foreign countries.  Now I am on the journey of being an author. I have so much to learn. I am thankful that my first book Easter Rising 1916 A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom is very successful. The thoughts and feelings I have written into my characters are now on display for anyone who chooses to read my books.  I am more exposed than I have ever been in my life.

I still choose hope, hope is the only positive choice of emotion in times of change. I will do my best to keep doing what I love which is writing. I will endure the negative reviews authors always get. Above all I will continue to believe in myself.

Visit  amazon.com/author/gabrielwoods

Published by:

Gabriel Woods

I am the author of The Golden Age Dawns, a fantasy science fiction book.I have traveled to many countries around the world including India, Australia, Scotland, England, Ireland, America, Amsterdam, Germany, Greece, Cyprus, Portugal and Spain. I have worked in mental health and disability for most of my life. I have an honours Degree in Psychology, a Masters in Aid-work Management, a Certificate in Counseling Skills and I am a certified coach. I have written my first novel, The Golden Age Dawns which will be published in Amazon at the end of April. I have a Kindle book available in Amazon Easter Rising 1916 A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom which is very popular and has achieve high ratings. I have always aimed to help and support people all my working life. Much of my learning from this is in my book, some of the ideas I share on this blogging site along with beautiful places I write about that I have traveled to. I am concerned about world politics at the moment and hope that my new book will go toward making the world a better place and helping individuals feel better about themselves. I am living in Ireland near Dublin. Apart from writing my book I have been working as a volunteer on a helpline for people with depression, bipolar and depression. What I love most is traveling and sunny countries. I love to visit important spiritual, religious, or historic places when I am in holiday but I also like holidays on the beach. I have a wide variety of music that I like from pop music to dance music and rock music. My hobbies are social commentary, politics, reading all kinds of books, the gym, gardening, D.I.Y. I love to socialize and meet new people. I like to learn new things. I am the author of: Easter Rising 1916, A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom My Novel The Golden Age Dawns. Gabriel Woods achieved a degree in psychology in University College Dublin, Ireland. He then studied a postgraduate course in UCD which focused on the management of humanitarian aid work. He learned about African culture and the issues aid workers face in Africa. Gabriel Woods has travelled around the world. He has lived in Sydney and Brisbane in Australia. He explored important religious and cultural Hindu, Buddhist and Muslim sites of India. He learned about the spiritual practices of the people that live and worship there. Gabriel Woods also spent time exploring important aboriginal sites in Australia and the lessons aboriginals have for humanity. Gabriel Woods has lived in Dublin, London and Edinburgh. He has travelled widely throughout mainland Europe including Spain, Greece, Cyprus, Netherlands and Germany with a focus on areas of cultural importance. These sites throughout the world that Gabriel has visited have had a profound effect on him which he expresses as he writes about these areas in his novel. Gabriel has returned to Ireland. He worked voluntarily for Aware helpline that supports people experiencing depression and anxiety. He is now a fully qualified life coach. He lives in a village near the banks of The Royal Canal.

Categories Dont Fear, emotions, hope, I love, psychologyTags , , , , , , , , , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Hope, Fear and Love”

  1. This is touching, insightful and honest. Thanks for sharing such personal and important things about love, fear and the courage that hope gives us to move beyond our fears. And congratulations on the success of your first novel! Wow. That’s a tremendous and rare accomplishment. I wish you the greatest future success, as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

