An Eye for an Eye

“An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind” Gandhi

I have shared suffering with others and others have shared great unimaginable suffering with me for which there was no solution only listening and healing.  I have met people kind enough to listen to me in times of my pain and I have let people cry on my shoulder as I struggled to understand their pain. I have been personally attacked for my beliefs, for the way I thought about things that people didn’t understand or like.
I laid flowers outside the Irish parliament where a homeless man died in the cold wind and rain because I wanted our government to know it was wrong for a man to die of starvation on the streets of Dublin, or anywhere in the world.  I worked on a helpline for people with depression for two years because the suicide rate in Ireland was climbing exponentially due to poverty and unemployment. One night I listened to a very distressed man working in a funeral parlour. He had to prepare burial`s for nine young adults who committed suicide in the same town and he knew these people. He wanted to find a way to help the mourning relatives deal with their grief.

Words can be empty. The outcry for the homeless man died down and homelessness increased. People talk of peace, they twitter and blog about how terrible terrorist events are yet most people do nothing about it. Jesus spoke of peace but he also demonstrated it. He kicked over the table of the merchants in the synagogue. He healed people. He listened to those who were suffering. Peace must be active, it`s more than speaking words as a reaction to terror and war. It is about doing, helping, caring, and listening.

Violence is wrong, I know its many faces but it always speaks the same language. No matter what country people are from the forms of violence are the same: judgement, anger, physical and psychological damage, grief. The only results of violence are pain and destruction. There are peaceful ways to deal with violence. One method is preventing violence from happening, for example educating those who are so full of anger or manipulated that they feel the need to commit violence against others. Policing areas effectively where people might commit violence, sitting down with each other to stop violence and work out agreements to live peacefully with each other.  Gandhi once said peace is a much more difficult path than violence. It takes time and great effort to convince people to stop fighting and to sit and talk. The peaceful way, he said, tends to benefit huge amounts of people and has a long-term lasting effect usually permanent. Countries and people begin to thrive, as they fear each other less and less. Gandhi liberated billions of people in India from colonisation so he was not talking theory this is what he observed happening. He performed acts of peace. He arranged demonstrations; he talked and listened to the people responsible for colonisation. It is said large numbers of people queued outside his house and he listened tirelessly to their troubles as his people followed him in their objective for freedom.

What can you DO to make the world a better place. Who needs your shoulder to cry on or needs you to listen to their pain? Who do you know needs help? What can you do for them?. Then speak words of peace to the world, when we physically help others to bring about peace person by person.

I`d love you to post some of your comments on how to help others or how to offer a listening ear.

Readers of this blog might decide to do the same.

Published by:

Gabriel Woods

I am the author of The Golden Age Dawns, a fantasy science fiction book.I have traveled to many countries around the world including India, Australia, Scotland, England, Ireland, America, Amsterdam, Germany, Greece, Cyprus, Portugal and Spain. I have worked in mental health and disability for most of my life. I have an honours Degree in Psychology, a Masters in Aid-work Management, a Certificate in Counseling Skills and I am a certified coach. I have written my first novel, The Golden Age Dawns which will be published in Amazon at the end of April. I have a Kindle book available in Amazon Easter Rising 1916 A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom which is very popular and has achieve high ratings. I have always aimed to help and support people all my working life. Much of my learning from this is in my book, some of the ideas I share on this blogging site along with beautiful places I write about that I have traveled to. I am concerned about world politics at the moment and hope that my new book will go toward making the world a better place and helping individuals feel better about themselves. I am living in Ireland near Dublin. Apart from writing my book I have been working as a volunteer on a helpline for people with depression, bipolar and depression. What I love most is traveling and sunny countries. I love to visit important spiritual, religious, or historic places when I am in holiday but I also like holidays on the beach. I have a wide variety of music that I like from pop music to dance music and rock music. My hobbies are social commentary, politics, reading all kinds of books, the gym, gardening, D.I.Y. I love to socialize and meet new people. I like to learn new things. I am the author of: Easter Rising 1916, A Family Answers The Call For Ireland`s Freedom My Novel The Golden Age Dawns. Gabriel Woods achieved a degree in psychology in University College Dublin, Ireland. He then studied a postgraduate course in UCD which focused on the management of humanitarian aid work. He learned about African culture and the issues aid workers face in Africa. Gabriel Woods has travelled around the world. He has lived in Sydney and Brisbane in Australia. He explored important religious and cultural Hindu, Buddhist and Muslim sites of India. He learned about the spiritual practices of the people that live and worship there. Gabriel Woods also spent time exploring important aboriginal sites in Australia and the lessons aboriginals have for humanity. Gabriel Woods has lived in Dublin, London and Edinburgh. He has travelled widely throughout mainland Europe including Spain, Greece, Cyprus, Netherlands and Germany with a focus on areas of cultural importance. These sites throughout the world that Gabriel has visited have had a profound effect on him which he expresses as he writes about these areas in his novel. Gabriel has returned to Ireland. He worked voluntarily for Aware helpline that supports people experiencing depression and anxiety. He is now a fully qualified life coach. He lives in a village near the banks of The Royal Canal.

Categories New author, psychology, Social Commentary, Sociology, Uncategorized, writingTags , , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “An Eye for an Eye”

  1. I’ve been thinking about your story regarding the homeless man. It amazes me how inured we become to the suffering of others, yet are accused of idealism for standing up and saying “This is wrong, we should change it.” I guess I’d rather be an idealist who does something, rather than a pragmatist who does not. Reading a book that I’m enjoying right now: “The Lifelong Activist” by Hillary Rettig. Sometimes we just don’t know where to begin. This was a thoughtful post, Gabriel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Michelle. Yes I have to admit I was upset that night, I was walking by the day after that he was found on my way home volunteering on a helpline. I thought to myself it`s not enough, I`m not doing enough to help. I desperately needed to do something so I lay some roses on the ground where he died, it was a very cold night. Then I felt better and I realised I don`t have to save the world that`s not my responsibility. I realised one small act of kindness everyday helps the world because it helps one person who might go on to help others. But we must ACT not talk. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

